Interview with Telmo: “The best way to prepare yourself is by not preparing yourself”

13731490_10206950315340855_8641613050008016267_n

Santiago de Compostela, Spain. The goal of pilgrims from all over the world. I got to know Telmo after having run into him a couple of times during my walk through Portugal’s countryside and we ended up sharing a couple of days on the roads. Telmo had so many stories to tell, this is one of them.

I started the Camino in Lisbon, around two weeks before we met. By then, I had prepared for a few weeks. I looked for tips online, asked friends for advice, everything was ordered in an Excel sheet. However, I did not follow it once. Everything felt like good surprises on this journey.

The walk to Spain was a bridge between the life as a student and starting a job. Somehow, it was a way of feeling grateful for the good things that have been happening to me. While walking, I had time to think a lot, so in a way, it also served as a meditation process.

17495635_10208909133470084_1673678809_n

I did this alone, which wasn’t necessarily a choice. Firstly, it started as a plan by two friends, then four. But sometimes if you don’t do the thing you want to do by yourself, you won’t do it at all. I’m glad I did, otherwise, I would still be waiting for them. The people that I met while walking and the sharing of experiences became a great part instead. Everyone was a new opportunity to learn something from, to start thinking differently. Imagine meeting people who started the same journey as you, but from other cities and for other reasons. I learned about different points of views from people of various ages, countries, and even religions.

I learned something about myself too – that I have this adventure spirit in me that I didn’t find before. The funny thing is that I kind of got addicted to it, a surprise for me and for everyone who knows me.

The day I reached Santiago de Compostela was one of my hardest days. The backpack was really heavy and I was quite tired and a bit upset due to lack of sleep and hunger. However, when I got there, I felt energetic again. Everything was OK and I was happy. Next time, because there will be one, I will walk the French way or the northern way, possibly both! And I won’t plan a thing, just start the journey. Alone or with someone.

My most important advice? Don’t worry about anything. As you walk the Camino, the Camino walks through you – I believe some author wrote this sometime, somewhere. But the truth is that you will change along the way, and the best way to prepare yourself is by not preparing yourself.

Leave a Reply

